Trials Happen. (A Villanelle)

Trials happen. I won’t cry.

Whenever I feel weary each day,

I will still look up on high.

 

If life gives nothing but lie,

I still stand where sunlight lay.

Trials happen. I won’t cry.

 

I’ll do everything and try.

Even if I’m caught in clay,

I will still look up on high.

 

To succeed is to satisfy

My never ending needs in gray.

Trials happen. I won’t cry.

 

It is God who makes me fly.

Whenever I feel tired near the bay,

I will still look up on high.

 

I’m still grateful for each day,

No more doubts and regrets on my way.

Trials happen. I won’t cry.

I will still look up on high.

 

***

 

This is one of our activities in my Creative Writing subject. I should be working with my partner; however, we both decided to make our own poem. This one is Villanelle. If you’ll notice, there are some lines repeated. The rhyme scheme is ABA ABA ABA ABA ABA ABAA. The 1st, 6th, 12th, 18th line must be the same. As well as the 3rd, 9th, 15th, and 19th.

 

Can I just share that today is such an exhaustive day? Wahhh. School works are everywhere.  😐

Leave a Reply

