The Realities that Only Writers Understand

Humble Beginnings

My very first novel was published in 2015. It was the start of, I think, a passion project that I’d surely treasure forever.

I still remember how I stare on the acceptance e-mail of my first publisher. At first, it’s hard for me to believe that my book has been accepted for publishing! I keep on rolling on my bed, shouting and jumping of joy. It is definitely an answered prayer! We produce the book in less than three months. Now, it is still sold in the market.

Motivation and Passion

With this experience, I keep on sending manuscripts to some publishers. It is definitely a job well done whenever I receive acceptance letter. But then, there are times that I receive more rejection letters than acceptance. As a traditional writer, this becomes a daily reality.

In the span of two years, I am able to write stories of different genres. From romance to spiritual, and now to self-help, my books have surely developed (in my opinion). I have moved on from the typical romance stories. I try to venture on new genres, like a novel about a traveler and the like. I keep on learning new strategies and techniques in narrative writing. I never get tired of doing personal research on how things are made. It is surely a looooong and tiring process, and luckily, I never stop.

It’s the passion that keeps me going.

It might be cheesy to write this way, but, this is true. When you do something that you really want, rejections do not count at all.

The Realities that Only Writers Understand

REJECTIONS

Writers, most of all, are used to rejections. Writers, most of all, assume more rejections than acceptance. If they receive acceptance letter, it is just a bonus. However, as a writer, I have been used to reading rejection letters which could be published to a compilation / anthology of rejection letters.

ACCEPTANCE

For a writer like me, the best acceptance letter is the fulfillment of having a novel finished. From its internals to externals, finishing a novel is definitely a form of acceptance letter. Sometimes, our novels get accepted. Lucky are we if we receive ACCEPTANCE LETTER. Sometimes, acceptance is not in a form of letter, but a reality for us, that we must accept the things that which are not for us.

Accepting the fact that everything happens at the right time pacifies our frustrations.

HOWEVER. BEING IGNORED is a different thing.

An acceptance letter is just  the start of satisfying your publisher. It’s good, of course, but there are times that you are becoming their employees. You need to cooperate. You need to deal with their needs. You have to provide the details.

It depends on them when will the release the book. The final say about the cover depends on them. They dictate what the ending should be. They tell you what is the best for your manuscript.

It is helpful, but there are times that no matter how compliant are you, everything depends on them. Like no matter how fast you work, you’ll end up waiting for them at the end.

Writing is indeed like waffles and cups of coffee.

5 thoughts on “The Realities that Only Writers Understand

  1. On a side note, have you tried self-publishing?

    It has been a lingering dea of mine to accumulate sufficient material now so I can compile them in a future anthology. The problem I see with that setup right now is that you need to pander to editors and publishers just to get your work to the presses. If your work doesn’t fit a certain narrative, you get rejected – something I learned back in first year when I attempted to pass a literary work to our college folio and got rejected afterwards (thankfully, I managed to get back my piece).

    In addition, self-publishing on platforms like Amazon Kindle gives you complete control over your work compared to the traditional model where higher-ups in the business will censor your work to oblivion. What are your thoughts on this?

    1. I haven’t tried self-publishing bec it needs extreme discipline. Everything depends on you. For someone like me, I only prefer trad pub bec I’m not familiar with the technical sides of printing. Thus, I do submit it instead.

      Amazon Kindle offers ease for writers who have saved a lot of pride. Hehe. However, it doesn’t work for me for my books are written in Filipino.

      Conclusion… I still prefer trad pub despite of all the emotional stress it gives me.

  2. Thanks for sharing about this. I’ve been thinking about writing a book.. I just don’t know how to yet. I think I need to be emotionally ready for the rejections you’re talking about here.

    I really admire your passion for writing…

Leave a Reply

